OR Tambo District Municipality

Flag this page

O.R. Tambo District Municipality
Eastern Cape
South Africa
+27 47 501 6400
+27 47 532 4166
Email contact form

To create an economically viable municipality through optimum utilisation of available resources. To provide efficient and effective service delivery, adequate access to land, security of tenure, housing, social wellbeing and effective skills development aimed at promoting a self-sustaining, healthy community.

The economy of the OR Tambo District hinges around the four key economic drivers of agriculture, tourism, forestry, and mariculture and aquaculture. The municipality has engaged in programmes related to these sectors in line with the district’s Local Economic Development and Integrated Sustainable Rural Development strategies. The Provincial Growth and Development Plan identifies agriculture as the key driver of local economic development in the district. Agriculture is comprised of two components: livestock and crop development. Langeni Forest and Magwa Tea are the major contributors to the forestry sector.

Mbizana, Qaukeni, Port St Johns, Nyandeni and King Sabata Dalindyebo local municipalities form part of the Wild Coast, which attracts the majority of tourists to the resorts scattered along the coastline. The natural beauty of the area’s beaches, estuaries and rivers, combined with a landscape suitable for hiking, makes the OR Tambo District an attractive destination for holidaymakers and adventure tourists. Ecotourism is also very important, as the Eastern Cape is a centre of endemism and the OR Tambo District in particular is home to some of the largest vulture colonies in the country. Rich in cultural and political heritage, the district is also home to the OR Tambo garden of remembrance, the Madiba Trail and the Nelson Mandela Museum.

Flag this page

Similar Entries of OR Tambo District Municipality

Capricorn District Municipality

To provide quality services, in a cost effective and efficient manner, through competent people, partnerships, information and knowledge management...

Amathole District Municipality

A leading, dynamic, innovative, pioneering and focused district municipality dedicated to servicing the needs of our communities and their social and...

Chris Hani District Municipality

The Chris Hani District Municipality is nestled in the heart of the Eastern Cape, a linking node to all the regions in the Province. It is largely...

KSD Municipality

King Sabata Dalindyebo Municipality is one of the seven local municipalities located within the OR Tambo District Municipality in the Eastern Cape...

Umgungundlovu District Municipality

The region has a rich and complex natural environment with numerous resources accounting for 13.5% of KwaZulu-Natal’s Gross Geographical Product and...

Cacadu District Municipality

The Cacadu Municipality has allocated about R1 million towards interventions aimed at boosting the Small Medium and Micro Enterprises (SMME) in the...

Bafetohile Development Institute cc

Mission: To enhance people’s integrity by giving them the skills to effectively handle their daily tasks, and to develop small, medium and micro...