KwaZulu-Natal Treasury

Flag this page

South Africa
033-897 4516, 033-342 3725
Email contact form

KwaZulu-Natal Treasury

The Public Service Act, 1994, as amended by the Public Service Amendment Act of 1999, established provincial departments in schedule 2. The Provincial Treasury, commonly referred to as the Department of Finance, is listed in that same schedule. In addition to that, National Government introduced the Public Finance Management Act, Act 1 of 1999, as amended by Act 29 of 1999, (PFMA) which provides for the establishment of a Provincial Treasury in terms of section 17.

The PFMA introduced a concept where the MEC is the Head of Treasury. The MEC is responsible for policy decisions relating to the Provincial Treasury while the Head of Department receives delegations from the MEC and performs certain powers and functions provided for in the PFMA and its regulations.

"The KwaZulu-Natal Treasury is led by Ms Ina Cronje, who is the MEC for Finance in the Province, while Mr SL Magagula is the Acting Head of Department. They are ably assisted by three Senior General Managers ; Ms M. Motaung (Internal Audit), Mr SL. Magagula (Resource Management) and Mr H. Conradie (Financial Management). Mr Conradie is also the Accounting Officer and the Provincial Accountant-General.

Commitment of The Provincial Treasury:

Our endeavours for the 2010/2011 financial year will again be directed towards the following goals:
1. Continued support and assistance to departments, public entities and municipalities to ensure further improvement in the audit outcomes, culminating in overall clean audits even before 2014;
2. Effective steps toward the detection and elimination of fraud and corruption in government through our Internal Audit Branch;
3. Ensuring transparent, effective and fair supply chain management practices;
4. On-budget expenditure (in all departments) through effective budget and cash management;
5. A further significant improvement in the provincial cash position; and
6. Enhanced monitoring of and assistance to municipalities and public entities to ensure prudence in financial management.

The Provincial Treasury will continue to support departments, public entities and municipalities through guidance, monitoring and assistance, as their performance is vital to the achievement of these goals. Good governance and prudent financial management are prerequisites for the improvement of service delivery. We must continue to ensure that public funds are spent wisely, transparently and towards the improvement of the lives of all our people.

Flag this page

Similar Entries of KwaZulu-Natal Treasury

Limpopo Provincial Treasury

At Limpopo Provincial Treasury (LPT), our vision is to become a centre of excellence and provide Sound Financial Management and Leadership that...

Limpopo Department of Public Works

Strategic Goals: Sustainable provincial building infrastructure to support service delivery: Strategic Goals: Sustainable provincial building...

Mpumalanga 2010 Provincial Office

To ensure that Mbombela as a Host City successfully meets all its requirements and deadlines, the Provincial Administration has, in an integrated...

North West Department of Developmental Local Government and Housing

To create a viable developmental local government and sustainable communities. To establish, coordinate, support, monitor and evaluate through a...

Mpumalanga Department of Education

The Mpumalanga Department of Education is committed to render quality education and training, through good governance, effective teaching and maximum...

Department of Public Works

A Public Institution that ensures the provision and management of high quality and accessible buildings infrastructure in the Eastern Cape Province....

Eastern Cape Department of Roads and Transport

The Department of Roads and Transport is responsible for maximising the contribution of roads and transport to the economic and social development...