Bitou Municipality

Flag this page

Municipal Buildings, 1 Sewell Street
Plettenberg Bay
South Africa
044 501 3000
044 533 6198

Bitou Municipality

Bitou Local Municipality, commonly known as the "Jewel of the Garden Route", incorporates the former Outeniqua District Council and Plettenberg Bay. Situated in the Eden District, it covers 1 200 square meters. More than 50 000 people live here. It includes the town of Plettenberg Bay and surrounding areas such as Covie, Nature's Valley, the Crags, Kurland, Keurbooms, Wittedrift, Green Valley, Kranshoek, Harkerville, Kwanokuthula, New Horizons as well as Qolweni and Bossiesgif.

Bitou Municipality aims to extend basic services to all. The municipality provides free basic services, such as water and electricity, to qualifying consumers. Bitou Municipality has its basic infrastructure frameworks in place and there is a spatial framework and a functioning land-use management system. A number of innovative initiatives in town planning and social housing are under way.

Bitou Municipality recognises the importance of social development issues and has a strong focus on crosscutting issues such as gender, youth, disability and HIV/Aids in municipal plans. Primary health and HIV/Aids have been given key priority status in the IDP.

Local Agenda 21 issues, with specific reference to sustainability and the environment, also enjoy a high profile. Innovative pilot projects on social housing are under way and Bitou Municipality has an indigent policy in place.

Flag this page

Similar Entries of Bitou Municipality

Eden District Municipality

The Eden District Municipality (EDM) is the third-largest district within the Western Cape Province and is made up of seven local municipalities,...

Drakenstein Municipality

The Municipality adopted this vision with the realisation that as a local municipality we cannot succeed single-handedly in our quest to address...

Amathole District Municipality

A leading, dynamic, innovative, pioneering and focused district municipality dedicated to servicing the needs of our communities and their social and...

Buffalo City Municipality

The Constitution of 1996 requires that a municipality "must structure and manage its administration and budgeting and planning processes to give...

Mnquma Municipality

Mnquma Municipality will uphold the principles of democracy, create an enabling environment that facilitates the empowerment of the community...

Umgungundlovu District Municipality

The region has a rich and complex natural environment with numerous resources accounting for 13.5% of KwaZulu-Natal’s Gross Geographical Product and...

Capricorn District Municipality

To provide quality services, in a cost effective and efficient manner, through competent people, partnerships, information and knowledge management...