Flag this page

Municipality Road
Adelaide  5760
South Africa
046 684 0034
046 684 1931


THE NXUBA MUNICIPALITY includes the two towns of Adelaide and Bedford, both of whom nestle in the foothills of the majestic Winterberg Mountain range in the heart of the Eastern Cape Midlands. Only 15 minutes apart, these two towns and the surrounding districts, which make up the Ilifa Country Escape, offer the visitor a never-to-be forgotten country experience!

Nxuba Municipality, a catalyst for a sustainable development for all. Nxuba Municipality strives to render services in an integrated manner. "The White Paper on Local Government, 1998, states that "Local Government is the best place to implement development. It must play a central role in representing our communities, protecting our human rights and meeting our basic needs. It must focus its efforts and resources on the quality of life of our communities, especially those members and groups that are most often marginalised or excluded. The country is in the hands of Local Government and what they do will determine the way forward."

The Constitution further requires municipalities to structure and manage their administration, budgeting and planning process to prioritise the basic needs of the communities. The four principles outlined herein are:

  • Maximising social development and economic growth
  • Effective democratic decentralisation
  • Good governance
  • Co-operation and solidarity

Flag this page

Similar Entries of NXUBA

North West Department of Developmental Local Government and Housing

To create a viable developmental local government and sustainable communities. To establish, coordinate, support, monitor and evaluate through a...

Eastern Cape Department of Social Development

The functional responsibilities of the Department of Social Development in the Eastern Cape are defined in the Constitution of the Republic of South...

Buffalo City Municipality

The Constitution of 1996 requires that a municipality "must structure and manage its administration and budgeting and planning processes to give...

Big 5 False Bay Municipality

Vision: To improve the quality of life of local communities through service delivery by providing: Infrastructure and services Equitable social and...

Amathole District Municipality

A leading, dynamic, innovative, pioneering and focused district municipality dedicated to servicing the needs of our communities and their social and...

Drakenstein Municipality

The Municipality adopted this vision with the realisation that as a local municipality we cannot succeed single-handedly in our quest to address...

Bitou Municipality

Bitou Local Municipality, commonly known as the "Jewel of the Garden Route", incorporates the former Outeniqua District Council and Plettenberg Bay....