Capricorn District Municipality

Flag this page

41 Biccard Street
South Africa
015-294 1000
015-295 5346
Email contact form

Capricorn District Municipality

To provide quality services, in a cost effective and efficient manner, through competent people, partnerships, information and knowledge management creating sustainability of economic development in the interest of all stakeholders.

Capricorn is a district with diverse local economic development opportunities in different sectors such as Tourism, Agriculture, Mining and Manufacturing. It falls under Limpopo Province, located on the Northern side of South Africa. It is a "Capricorn region", which is predominantly rural in nature.

The Capricorn District is the third largest district economy in Limpopo Province. The largest and second largest district economies in Limpopo are Waterberg and Mopani respectively. The Limpopo's Capital, Polokwane, lies in the heart of the Capricorn region. The District has an internal airport and is lined to Gauteng by one to the best stretches of the in N1 in South Africa.

Capricorn District Municipality is made up of five local municipalities namely, Aganang, Blouberg, Lepelle-Nkumpi, Molemole and Polokwane. These municipalities are quite different in terms of their levels of socio-economic development. The Capricorn District Municipality also has 547 settlements distributed as follows: 167 in Polokwane, 138 in Bloomberg, 109 in Lepelle -Nkumpi, 96 in Aganang and 37 in Molemole.

Flag this page

Similar Entries of Capricorn District Municipality

Amathole District Municipality

A leading, dynamic, innovative, pioneering and focused district municipality dedicated to servicing the needs of our communities and their social and...

Capricorn FM

According to the South African Advertising Research Foundation, Limpopo’s Capricorn FM is one of the fastest-growing independent stations in South...

OR Tambo District Municipality

To create an economically viable municipality through optimum utilisation of available resources. To provide efficient and effective service delivery...

Chris Hani District Municipality

The Chris Hani District Municipality is nestled in the heart of the Eastern Cape, a linking node to all the regions in the Province. It is largely...

Umgungundlovu District Municipality

The region has a rich and complex natural environment with numerous resources accounting for 13.5% of KwaZulu-Natal’s Gross Geographical Product and...

Cacadu District Municipality

The Cacadu Municipality has allocated about R1 million towards interventions aimed at boosting the Small Medium and Micro Enterprises (SMME) in the...

Eden District Municipality

The Eden District Municipality (EDM) is the third-largest district within the Western Cape Province and is made up of seven local municipalities,...