Amathole District Municipality

Flag this page

40 Cambridge Street
East London
Eastern Cape 
South Africa
+27 43 701 4000
+27 43 742 0337
Email contact form

Amathole District Municipality

A leading, dynamic, innovative, pioneering and focused district municipality dedicated to servicing the needs of our communities and their social and economic development in a sustainable manner.

The Amathole District Municipality is dedicated in contributing to the betterment of our communities’ lives through a participatory development process to ensure they have access to socio-economic opportunities. We are dedicated to enhancing our communities’ lives through partnership-building and cooperation with relevant stakeholders and in building the capacity of our local municipalities.

Amathole District Municipality, on the eastern seaboard of South Africa, was established after the first local government elections in December 2000. The district stretches from the Indian Ocean coastline in the south to the Amathole Mountains in the north, and from Mbolompo Point (just south of the Hole-in-the-Wall along the Transkei Wild Coast) in the east, to the Great Fish River along the Sunshine Coast in the west. It is a land of rivers and fertile floodplains, undulating grasslands, valley bush, pristine estuaries, beaches, forests and waterfalls. The district lies at the heart of the Eastern Cape Province and is presently home to about 1.7-million people. The district has eight local municipalities under its area of jurisdiction, each containing at least one urban service centre.

The Amathole District Municipality is ready to receive your call and to provide you with the necessary assistance and aid in order to ensure your queries are responded to promptly.

Flag this page

Similar Entries of Amathole District Municipality

Capricorn District Municipality

To provide quality services, in a cost effective and efficient manner, through competent people, partnerships, information and knowledge management...

OR Tambo District Municipality

To create an economically viable municipality through optimum utilisation of available resources. To provide efficient and effective service delivery...

Eden District Municipality

The Eden District Municipality (EDM) is the third-largest district within the Western Cape Province and is made up of seven local municipalities,...

Chris Hani District Municipality

The Chris Hani District Municipality is nestled in the heart of the Eastern Cape, a linking node to all the regions in the Province. It is largely...

Cacadu District Municipality

The Cacadu Municipality has allocated about R1 million towards interventions aimed at boosting the Small Medium and Micro Enterprises (SMME) in the...

Umgungundlovu District Municipality

The region has a rich and complex natural environment with numerous resources accounting for 13.5% of KwaZulu-Natal’s Gross Geographical Product and...

Ehlanzeni District Municipality

The provision of a socio-economic infrastructure in order to enable a participatory client utilisation of development opportunities, thereby ensuring...